San Diego Chapter of ASLA

To lead, to educate and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning and artful design of our cultural and natural environments.
A world where the built and natural environments coexist in harmony and sustainable balance; where all peoples can express their diverse heritage and their individual desires to grow and thrive; and where we, as a profession, can substantially contribute to the process of achieving these ends.

Join ASLA Today

Membership in ASLA offers many benefits. There are eight categories of membership, from student to corporate. When you join ASLA you will also need to choose “San Diego Chapter”. The Membership Application link below will help you find the type of membership that fits you best. You can apply online or through the mail. If you have any questions, please contact ASLA Member Services or call (888) 999-2752, or ASLA San Diego at (619) 283-8818.

To learn more about ASLA and Landscape Architecture, check our Quick Facts.
Click this link for more information on membership from the national website

Volunteer Today!

Want to get the most out of your ASLA membership? Volunteer today to increase your knowledge of and networking in our industry. Click Here for the Volunteer Form.

Contact Us

American Society of Landscape Architects San Diego Chapter
1050 Rosecrans Street, Suite B
San Diego, CA 92106

Phone: 619.283.8818
Fax: 619.222.8154
Click to send an Email

San Diego Chapter 2019 Executive Board

Philip Armstrong, ASLA
Philip Armstrong, ASLAPresident
The Lightfoot Planning Group
Phone: 760.692.1924
Brett Allen, ASLA
Brett Allen, ASLAPresident Elect
Van Dyke Landscape Architects
Phone: 619.294.8484
David Preciado, ASLA
David Preciado, ASLATreasurer
Estrada Land Planning
Phone: 619.236.0143
Amy Chevalier, ASLA
Amy Chevalier, ASLASecretary
Naval Facilities Engineering Command
Phone: 619.532.1384
Michael Brennan, ASLA
Michael Brennan, ASLAPast President/Technical Advisory Com, City of San Diego
Carson Douglas Landscape Architecture
Phone: 619.995.1306
Jose Aguila, ASLA
Jose Aguila, ASLAVice President - Community Outreach
Naval Facilities Engineering Command
Phone: 619. 532.1523
Jonathan S. Austin, ASLA
Jonathan S. Austin, ASLAVice President - Membership
Phone: 619.610.7725
Aura Garcia Grego, ASLA
Aura Garcia Grego, ASLAVice President - Programs/Social Activities
City of San Diego
Phone: 619.533.6126
VacantVice President - Programs/Education
Jonathan Avila, ASLA
Jonathan Avila, ASLAVice President - Visibility/Public Affairs
City of San Diego Public Utilities Dept.
Phone: 619.533.7548
Patricia Trauth, ASLA
Patricia Trauth, ASLAChapter Trustee
Rick Engineering Company
Phone: 619. 278.5656
Rich Risner, ASLA
Rich Risner, ASLACalifornia Council - ASLA Representative
Grounded Modern Landscape Architecture
Phone: 760.518.7106
Joy Lyndes, ASLA
Joy Lyndes, ASLACalifornia Council - ASLA Representative
Coastal Sage Landscape Architecture
Phone: 760.456.7907
Vicki Estrada, FASLA
Vicki Estrada, FASLA2019 ASLA Host Committee Co-Chair
Estrada Land Planning
Phone: 619.236.0143
Martin Flores, ASLA
Martin Flores, ASLA2019 ASLA Host Committee Co-Chair
Carrier Johnson + Culture
Phone: 619.239.2353 x449
Tracy Morgan Hollingworth, CAE
Tracy Morgan Hollingworth, CAEExecutive Director
Phone: 619.283.8818
Fax: 619.222.8154

Committee Chairs

David McCullough, ASLA
David McCullough, ASLACode Monitoring Team, City of San Diego
McCullough Landscape Architecture
Phone: 619.296.3150
Marian Marum, ASLA
Marian Marum, ASLACounty Water Authority – Conservation Action Committee
Marum Partnership
Phone: 619.992.9533
Katie Barreto, ASLA
Katie Barreto, ASLAEmerging Professionals Committee
Gillespie Moody Patterson
Phone: 858.558.8977
Erik Rowan, ASLA
Erik Rowan, ASLAEmerging Professionals Committee
Rick Engineering
Phone: 973.941.1070
Phillip Barnes, ASLA
Phillip Barnes, ASLAGolf Committee
Burton Studio
Phone: 858.794.7204
Brett Allen, ASLA
Brett Allen, ASLAGolf Committee
Van Dyke Landscape Architects
Phone: 619.294.8484
Amy Hoffman, ASLA
Amy Hoffman, ASLAHALS Committee
Phone: 619.294.4477
Joe Esposito, ASLA
Joe Esposito, ASLASan Dieguito River Park Citizens Advisory Committee
Estrada Land Planning
Phone: 619.236.0143
Michelle Landis, ASLA
Michelle Landis, ASLAStewardship Committee Chair
Studio West Landscape Architecture and Planning
Phone: 619.840.4363
Mara Rosza, Chapter President
Mara Rosza, Chapter PresidentSouthwestern College ASLA Student Affiliate Chapter
For More Information
Contact Student Chapter Liaison
Michael Watts, ASLA
Michael Watts, ASLAStudent Affiliate Chapter Liaison
Michael Watts Design
Phone: 619.991.0023

San Diego Chapter Past Presidents

2018: Michael Brennan
2017: Nate Magnusson
2016: Rich Risner
2015: Tim Smith
2014: Patricia Trauth
2013: Tim Jachlewski
2012: Jim Kuhlken
2011: David Reed
2010: Jim Taylor
2009: David McCullough
2008: Jon Wreschinsky
2007: Chris Gustard
2006: Chris Langdon
2005: Stephen Copley
2004: David Allan Taylor Jr.
2003: David Strickland
2002: Gary Pryor
2001: Laura Burnett
2000: Larry Sheehan
1999: Teresa Barker
1998: Joseph Esposito
1997: Gary Ruyle
1996: Robin Shifflet
1995: Mark Steyaert
1994: Kelly Broughton
1993: Patrick Caughey
1992: Glen Schmidt
1991: Marian Marum
1990: Nick DeLorenzo
1989: Keith Simon
1988: Rick Garbini
1987: Bill Burton
1986: Frank Kawasaki
1985: Gerald Garner
1984: Roger DeWeese
1983: Robert DeLacy
1982: Dennis Otsuji
1981: Vicki Estrada
1979: Ralph Stone
1978: Ron Teshima
1977: Stephen Halsey

California Council of ASLA 2018/2019 Executive Board

Rich Risner, ASLA, San Diego Chapter

Vice President
Joy Lyndes, ASLA, San Diego Chapter

Tala Fatolahzadeh, ASLA, Northern California Chapter

Jim Pickel, ASLA, Southern CA Chapter

Government Affairs Liaison
John Nicolaus, ASLA, Sierra Chapter

LATC Resource
Jon Wreschinsky, ASLA, San Diego Chapter

Carmen Erasmus, ASLA

Tala Fatolahzadeh, Northern California Chapter

Jeff Chamlee, ASLA

Don Gilbert

Executive Director
Tracy Morgan Hollingworth

LATC Program Manager
Trish Rodriguez

ASLA National Executive Officers

Shawn T. Kelly, FASLA, President
Wendy Miller, FASLA, President-Elect
Gregory A. Miller, FASLA, Immediate Past President
Kona Gray, FASLA, Vice President, Professional Practice
Lake Douglas, FASLA, Vice President, Education
Haley Blakeman, ASLA, Vice President, Communications
Eugenia M. Martin, FASLA, Vice President, Government Affairs
Dennis Nola, ASLA, Vice President, Membership
SuLin Kotowicz, ASLA, Vice President, Finance
Nancy C. Somerville, Hon. ASLA, Executive Vice President
Curt A. Millay, ASLA, Secretary
Michael D. O’Brien, Hon. ASLA, Treasurer

ASLA National Headquarters

636 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3736
Phone (202) 898-2444
FAX (202) 898-1185