Project Description

Project Name: Meinel Optical Science Building Expansion – University of Arizona campus
Member Firm: Coastal SAGE Landscape Architecture
Member Name: Joy Lyndes, Owner & Principal Landscape Architect (owner of SAGE Landscape Architecture & Environmental at the time of project design and construction)

This University of Arizona Center is an iconic symbol of the integration of architectural and landscape architectural form, materials and context. Located prominently on the central campus mall, the building and its distinctive landscape make a visual statement from many views while responding to the unique site. The selection of sculptural desert plant materials, rustic local rock and massings of indigenous trees juxtaposed with cool micro climate spaces for people to linger creates a landscape which responds to the building architecture and the needs of the University campus. SAGE collaborated with Richard + Bauer Architects to create a unified design which integrates the concepts of light, reflection, and perspective to create distinct landscape. Outdoor classroom space, open space for people to spontaneously interact and share knowledge, cool reflective spaces, and accessible routes were seamlessly integrated into the north and west facing plazas.

Project name: Meinel Optical Sciences Building
Location: University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
Size: 47,000 gsf – new building, 6,000 gsf – renovation
Cost: 14M
Completion Date: May 2006
Owner: University of Arizona
Contractor: Lloyd Construction Company, Inc.
architectural designer: James Richärd, AIA
project manager + interior design: Kelly Bauer, FIIDA
lab consultant: Earl Walls, Inc.
engineering: ARUP, Los Angeles Office
civil engineering: KPFF Consulting Engineers
landscape architect: SAGE Landscape Architecture and Environmental

2006 AIA Arizona Honor
2006 AIA Western Mountain Region Honor
2006 IIDA SW Chapter PRIDE Award Best of Show
2006 IIDA SW Chapter PRIDE Award Design Execellence in the Educational + Institutional Category
2007 AIA National Honor Award for Excellence