2016 Design Awards Event Honors Landscape Architect Clay Phillips

2016 Design Awards Event Honors Landscape Architect Clay Phillips

The 2016 ASLA San Diego Chapter Design Awards were attended by over 120 members and guests who shared a fun evening — Celebrating 40 Years of ASLA – San Diego and honoring the best in the industry on June 9 at the McMillin Event Center at Liberty Station.

These awards are the ultimate recognition of design achievement for firms and projects in the San Diego region, celebrating the innovation and creativity found among the practitioners in San Diego County.

Continuing a traditional started at the 2014 Design Awards, the San Diego Chapter recognized three Student Design Award Winners and presented the San Diego Stewardship Award to Landscape Architect Clay Phillips for his 37 years of support and advocacy in the public realm. Phillips sees one of the key goals of the profession is to connect people to the environment and what better place to do that than at the best state park system in the nation. The skillsets that enable Landscape Architects to do that, allowed Clay to also bridge the gap between conflicting park stakeholders and diverse professional disciplines. Clay Phillips retired after working 37 years for California State Parks.

Special thanks go to our Awards Jury members:
Natalia Trepchina-Worden, ASID, N.T. Worden Design
Chuck Ware, ASLA, Principal Design Workshop
Jeff Ferber, ASLA, Principal RRM Design Group
Bennett Peji, Principal, Bennett Peji Design
Manuel Oncina, President, Manuel Oncina Architects
Richard Zweifel, ASLA Past President
Duane Border, Duane Border Design
David Kovach, Kovach Group of Companies

The Design Awards event would not be successful without the generous sponsorship of our Event Sponsors:
ANOVA, Concrete Contractors Interstate, Gail Materials, Rain Bird, Rick Engineering, Wynn Smith Landscape Architecture, Inc., Grounded Landscape Architecture, RCP Block & Brick. Schmidt Design Group, The Office of James Burnett and Urban Arena.

The 2016 Professional ASLA San Diego Chapter Design Awards honored thirteen professional projects which were recognized in various project categories.

Presidents Award
Campus Pointe (Commercial) Spurlock Landscape Architecture

Honor Awards
Atlanta Botanical Garden: Gardens in Storza Woods (Institutional) Spurlock Landscape Architecture
Qualcomm Pacific Center (Commercial) landLab

Merit Awards
San Antonio Village Phase 1 (Commercial) Urban Arena
University Avenue Streetscape (Environmental) Rick Engineering
Laguna Festival of Arts & Pageant of the Masters – Entry and Façade Improvements (Institutional) Spurlock Landscape Architects
UCSD Revelle College Housing Neigh Renewal Project (Institutional) landLab
Box Springs Mountain Comprehensive Trails Master Plan (Planning/Analysis) KTU+A Landscape Architecture
El Caballo Park Master Plan (Planning/Analysis) Wynn Smith Landscapte Architecture, Inc.
North Embarcadero Visionary Plan Phase 1 (Public/Muncipal) Spurlock Landscape Architects

Recognition Awards
ARTS Park n’ Lot (Parks/Trails/Recreation) Rooted in Place Landscape Architecture
Hilltop Child Development Center Habitat gARTen (Pro Bono) Rooted in Place Landscape Architecture
Mission Avenue Improvements (Public/Municipal) The Lightfoot Planning Group

ASLA Design Awards Student Award Recipients
Presidential award – Vietnam War Memorial, (Parks, Trails & Recreation) John Bush
Presidential award – Re-Cover, (Parks, Trails & Recreation) Mark Chien
Merit award – The Pearl, (Communications) Jeffery Kuebler

To view the award winners and their projects visit our Design Awards 2016 page.

By |2016-09-06T13:01:28+00:00July 14th, 2016|Awards & Recognition, Industry News, Past Events|